Why Am I Here?

Why am I here? Good question…I wish the answer was cooler. Lets throw back to 2012 *insert majestic harp noises*…

   It was mid-afternoon and as per usual, I found myself completing a trash magazine’s Facebook quiz. This particular quiz was titled “What is your dream job?” and after pining for something like ‘Getaway Host’ or ‘Hidden-wonders-of-the-world discoverer’, I received the result of ‘Social/Digital Media Strategist’, and (once I established what this job entails) a chord was struck. As someone who spends much too much time in front of a screen, I instantly thought…To be paid to use social media?? Yes please!!
As the years went by, I researched and became increasingly attracted to the idea of the title ‘Social media strategist’, so here I am.

Now that you’re all caught up…

Hi! (First blog post eek)
I have just begun my first year of Communications & Media Studies at the University of Wollongong, NSW, Australia (Just incase I become super famous and you, my International readers don’t know where UOW is) *Goals*. At this point I intend to undertake a ‘Marketing & Advertising’ major, so I can eventually (hopefully) work in the Social/Digital/New media sector of Marketing. This might sound boring to some, but as an incredibly optimistic person, I love looking on the positive side of things, which is involved in ANY  form of marketing.

I was born and bred in the beautiful city of Wollongong and am excited by the endless door’s my degree provides the key for (Metaphor, get it? Artsy, I know.)

Confession:

Two weeks ago, I considered myself fairly tech-literate and my media-knowledge to be contemporary, however after attending my first lectures and experiencing many ‘Game of Thrones’ and ‘Star Wars’ references (neither of which I’ve ever seen) *shame on me, I know*, I realise I’m quite the rookie, but I promise to persevere through this tough time and do my very best to improve. (Game of Thrones marathon scheduled for next week).

P.s. If you enjoyed watching me stumble my way through my first blog post, you’re sure to find my Twitter a hoot. @emmapinfold

Until then, that’s this week Pinned.
Emma.

Leave a Reply

