Media use in public space: can you resist?

*Brace yourself; I may be about to ruffle your feathers*

Media use in public space- let’s be honest, it’s widely frowned upon. In public space, we are surrounded by people yet feel the urge to turn to our devices for communication.

Our task for this week was to take a photo of someone using their mobile phone in a public space. I however, find this task deeply ironic; here’s why.
In order to take a photo of someone using their phone in public *SPOILER ALERT* you yourself must use your phone in public.

As a serial offender of media use in public space and fear of hypocrisy; I hereby refuse to fulfil this task. Instead, here’s a candid picture of myself using my phone in public space.IMG_6044

Refusal to fulfil the task of photographing someone in public stemmed from one main concern, how to complete the task ethically. Upon careful consideration, I could not find a solution that deemed completely ethical. I did not feel comfortable taking someone’s photo without consulting them and gaining their permission. Additionally, I felt uncomfortable asking to take a picture of someone using their phone in public, as it would provide a disingenuous result.

So why do we frown upon digital communication in public space? The purpose of modern technology is to be connected everywhere, all the time- so what’s the harm? Acceptance of media use is widely determined by media space, whether that be public or private.

In private space we should be communicating with the ones we love and in public space we should be communicating with those around us. I acknowledge this, however I have formed a poor habit, one which would be hard to break. I hereby embark on an experiment to break the habit of media use in public space and strengthen relationships with the around me as a result.

Brighten someones day; next time you’re in a public space waiting for a bus or in a shopping que, just say hello (using your voice rather than your fingertips).

Until next time, that’s this week Pinned.
Emma.

Leave a comment